top of page
  • watersprite268

"PUNT!!! TOUCHDOWN!!!"



March 5th, 2016:

" After struggling with this pain for most of the night, couldn't get comfortable, throbbing pain keeping me awake, I decided if I pretend it is something else then I can control it... sooo... It's a football... it's a football... I told myself over and over, 'it's a football'...then... PUNT!!!  TOUCHDOWN!!  Then I was able to sleep for 4 hours straight!"  ~My Mom the second night after knee replacement surgery~  I love it.  With the use of mindful awareness, self guided imagery and...umm.. well some pain killing chemicals and herbs she is moving better and better all the time.  She sleeps as I sit here telling the world of her genius pain management skills.  GO MOM!!!  :D


The above sprinkle was written by the 5 years ago me. It came up in my face book memories for today, March 5th. After waking up this morning and reading this, I decided to expand upon it and make it this week's blog topic. Despite a slight struggle with low moods and physical weariness these past couple weeks, I am grateful for my commitment to write a weekly blog. It puts pressure on me to take a closer look at soul sprinkled moments throughout my week.


Monday began with a stirring to express myself with the "pre-blog time period method." A good ol' fashioned face book post, in which I simply sit down and start typing out what is on my mind. I'm sitting here attempting to think of a way to illustrate my current state of emotions, physical discomfort, financial worries and...well... just too many rabbits beckoning me to follow them down their most traveled trail. I'll just say, as my thoughts spiraled inward on Monday morning, to take the collective temperature of body, mind and spirit, my one and only ski adventure came to mind. I ended up with a message about equilibrium and how it's okay to deliberately slow myself down when the need arises... lest I either make myself wreck or run into a tree at top speed, which I suppose can also be described as a wreck. This post prompted an exchange between myself and a close relative of long time, best friend Tricia. He began encouraging me with my writing. In all honesty, cuz I don't really believe most of us want lies... unless of course you are a member of Fleetwood Mac *did Stevie Knicks sing that song, or the other Mac girl?* "Sweeet Lil Lies"... wait... what was I saying? Oh yes, in all honesty, it's been more difficult than I thought it would be to get this blog launched and flowing. As with most people, I experience writer's block in many forms. It's not that this particular post received an avalanche of "likes" and "loves," only a handful. Regardless, this one encouraging exchange, brought mounds of sparkly inspiration. This inspiration flashed on and off all week, and Boaz (the encouraging responder to my post) shared his idea for a book with me and gave me full permission to run with it. It's cooking within me and I might just play with it a little. This experience was a reminder that the "all or nothing" mindset is a killer of inspiration and dreams. Sometimes we have need to simply take a couple steps towards something that slightly resembles "onward" and the trail lights up! It's that simple.


In regards to my dog Bro, who is my furry encouragement to stay active and joyful, we enjoyed 2 long walks this week. I had one planned for today, but he will be happy to learn he gets to spend the entire week end with his Obie, his forever brother, confidant, kindred soul, partner on the streets. When the two of them get together they act as though they rule the world... so much fun he will have this week end! So much fun my daughter and I will have as we go to meet my cousin Anne in the hot springs pools. Hiking, water getting, soaking and 80's garb dancing to live music, lots to look forward to this week end. Mostly though, I get to spend it with loved ones. Life is lifeless without loved ones.


Also this week, I signed on to a course called: "A Year of Writing to Uncover the Authentic Self." It's from the "DailyOM" site and comes with daily inspiration and thought provoking questions to ponder and write about each week. I'm all about authenticity in my writing, so this is a perfect supplement for me. Wouldn't you know it, the first round of questions focused on "Roadblocks to writing." I can come up with many roadblocks that pop up to obstruct the trail of free flowing writes. The main one for me? PROCRASTINATION!! I had every intention to work a little, or a lot on this weekly blog every day and post early, as I will be out of town Saturday and Sunday. Well, I'm meeting my early commitment, all at once. I wonder, do I ALWAYS have to build so much pressure for myself in order to reach my goals? It seems I do. I remember during my college days, writing a term paper or two the night before they were due. I would tell myself all semester long, "I'll write some this week-end, or...well... Monday morning before the kids wake up, or you know... right after they go to bed.. or.. or... or... " My beautiful, supportive Mom, more than once, came and got my kids to spend the week end at Grandma's while I pulled over nighters to meet my educational obligations. I have often told myself, "procrastination puts too much pressure on creativity and there is an easier path to follow." I do believe I'm right, and yet... here I am. Whatevs, this writing feels good and I hope you enjoy reading it.


Until this morning, I thought we were heading out tomorrow morning, sooooo... I'm doing laundry, packing, cleaning out my cluttered car to load water getting jugs in, packing food and such for Bro, and working towards a 1pm target for heading over to get Amber... while completing this blog. I suppose I'll wrap it up and bring my point full circle. This week's inward journey was one of looking stop gaps, real or imagined, square in the eye and bringing them to effervescent, dissipating light. Once externalizing, I utilize mindful awareness and self guided imagery to push them out of the way... or kick them out of the way as the case may be. Unlike most in my family, I'm not a huge football fan, so I used different imagery and self guidance tactics. To honor my genius Mom, however...in regards to procrastination, low motivation and mood, physical challenges and focus on improving thyroid, any and all worries blocking the free flow of inspirational expression, I wrap into one ball and say, "IT'S A FOOTBALL!! PUNT!! TOUCHDOWN!!"


Soul Sprinkled Moments for the week include, the usual dog walking/scenery pics and a modeling of my new "Aunt Debba" Green Jasper earring and necklace set. I created a video and couldn't figure out how to load it on this blog. So, hopefully I figured out a way to share it WITH this blog. I will imagine I'll have a few to add on Monday after my hot springs excursion, with a much refreshed brain and spirit to work with! If you don't see a video link... I didn't figure it out in the quickly diminishing time allotted. Have a great week end all!






28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page